Archive for the ‘driving while intoxicated’ tag

Two DUIs, One Crash

August 18th, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Neither driver should have been on the road one Saturday morning early in August, according to Chicago CBS Local. After a grisly accident on the Stevenson Expressway, both drivers involved in the crash were charged with DUI. “It’s rare for both drivers in an accident to be charged with DUI,” reports Chicago CBS Local. “Illinois State Police tell CBS that one-half of that duo, a female driver, is in stable condition.” The woman is 21-year-old Megan Bargardo, whose grey Mercury Sable stalled in the middle of the highway when she was driving home after a night out. It was about midnight when her Sable was rear-ended by a Scion, piloted by 24-year-old Anthony Hornburg. According to CBS, the accident, in which a 24-year-old passenger from Bargardo’s vehicle was seriously injured, “tied up traffic on I-55 for nearly four hours as cars traffic was reduced to one lane.” There were four passengers in these cars affected in total by the crash. There is still no resolution as to why the Sable was stalled in the middle of the expressway, according to CBS Local.  Two DUIs, One Crash IMAGE

Both young people were of legal drinking age, but still in the bracket in which drunk driving is a serious threat, according to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) statistics. “In fatal crashes in 2010, the highest percentage of drunk drivers was for drivers ages 21 to 24 (34 percent), followed by ages 25 to 34 (30 percent) and 35 to 44 (25 percent),” according to MADD. Females were about half as likely to drive under the influence, according to MADD statistics, and about 30 percent of all drivers arrested or convicted of a DUI had been previously convicted or charged with DUI.

In Illinois, according to the Illinois State Police, DUI conviction penalties increase with the number of DUIs that the driver has incurred. For the first DUI conviction, there’s a “minimum of one-year loss of full driving privileges; possible imprisonment for up to one year; and a maximum fine of $2,500.”

If you or someone you know has been accused or charged with DUI, don’t go through it alone. Contact an experienced DUI attorney today.

1-800-Dial-DUI America's Top DUI & DWI Defense Attorneys
Super Lawyers
Leading Lawyers Network The Top Lawyers
1-800-Injurys America's Personal Injury Attorneys