October 25th, 2013 at 1:13 pm
Although many people immediately associate a DUI with being pulled over and failing (or refusing to take) a breathalyzer test, there are some other common alcohol charges that might be linked to your case. When combined with a DUI charge, you can face increased fines and jail time if convicted. If you have been pulled over for a DUI and been informed about additional charges, seek the assistance of an Illinois DUI attorney sooner rather than later. Fines for DUIs and related issues are serious and you need someone who will fight for you in court.
Providing alcohol to individuals under the age of 21 carries stiff penalties. If you are found guilty of this charge, you could be imprisoned for up to one year and can face penalties up to $2,500. If you are found to be illegally transporting alcoholic beverages in your vehicle, a point violation will be linked to your record, you could pay a fine of up to $1,000, and if it’s your second conviction in a one-year period, your driver’s license may be suspended. Failing a chemical test on its own leads to a one-year driver’s license suspension and refusing to submit to the chemical tests leads to a three-year suspension, so this added penalties can have a serious impact on your future.
If arrested under the age of 21 for drunk driving, the consequences are even more serious. With statistics on the record that drivers under the legal drinking age are 10% of all licensed drivers but connected with 17% of fatal alcohol crashes, Illinois State Police and local police are committed to a zero tolerance policy for teenage drinking and driving.
If you have been charged with a DUI or other alcohol-related offenses, you need an attorney you can trust. Don’t leave your future up to chance- hire an experienced Illinois DUI lawyer today.