June 4th, 2013 at 1:06 pm
Here in the state of Illinois, there are very strict laws regarding driving under the influence. In many cases, you can face license suspensions or revocations, fines, and even jail time. But what happens if you have been pulled over by an officer and charged with your very first DUI?
If you have been pulled over with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you may face some of the following consequences: jail, fines, license suspension, or community service.
For your first DUI, it is possible for you to be looking at up to one year of jail time. However, this sentence can be increased by up to six months if a child under 16 was in the vehicle with you. In regards to fines, you may face up to $2,500. Also keep in mind that you will probably end up paying for legal expenses, which can further increase this amount. A $500 minimum fine can be added to your original fine if your BAC is above 0.16%. Another $1,000 minimum can be added if a child under 16 was in the vehicle.
If charged with a DUI, you could possibly have your license suspended for a minimum of one year, well as a possible vehicle registration suspension. Community service is another likely consequence you will face, with 100 hours minimum if your BAC is over 0.16%, or 25 days if a child under 16 was in the vehicle.
While not as serious as a second or third DUI, your first DUI is still a very serious matter. If you have been charged with a DUI, be sure to contact a dedicated Illinois DUI attorney to represent your case and answer any questions you may have.
Image courtesy of xedos4/Freedigitalphotos