Archive for the ‘consequences’ tag
July 29th, 2013 at 8:00 am
In Illinois, there are certain minimums of coverage that are required by motorists. As of May of this year, Illinois lawmakers are proposing an increase from liability from $20,000 to $25,000 for the death of one person. This would be the most basic coverage necessary for a person to drive legally. Police officers routinely check for proof of insurance and vehicle registration even for routine traffic stops.
Another form that is necessary to prove that a person has car insurance is a SR-22 or Safety Responsibility-22 form. It is filled out by an authorized insurance company to prove that a driver has insurance. This form is submitted to the DMV and maintained unless the premium is not paid. An SR-22 must be maintained for at least three years. In the case of a missed payment, a SR-26 form is issued by the insurance company, which automatically suspends the driver’s license.
A SR-22 is necessary when trying to reinstate a suspended license due to any number of violations:
- Driving without insurance,
- Serious violations of traffic rules,
- Volume of moving violations,
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
And also may be necessary for individuals who have received:
- Mandatory insurance suspensions,
- Unsatisfied judgment suspensions,
- Safety responsibility suspensions.
The SR-22 can take one of three forms. The first is as an Operator’s Certificate which covers the driver in any non-owned vehicle. The second is an Owner’s Certificate which covers vehicles owned by the driver. The third kind is a combination which is an Operators & Owner’s Certificate which covers all vehicles owned and not owned by the motorist.
If you have been pulled over for suspicion of DUI, then it is important to have the legal advice of a professional. The consequences are too great to be put to chance. Contact an experienced DUI attorney in Cook County who can help you keep your license and avoid insurance hassles.
April 15th, 2013 at 11:51 pm
A new law was enacted as of January 1st in 2013 that takes aim at adults who try to be “cool” with their children. It will increase the penalties for parents who have their children or others to drink at their homes. It stipulates that the parents don’t have to know of this activity and closes a commonly used loophole for parents to claim no liability for their children’s underage drinking.
The law is now a misdemeanor that allows has a fine of $500 for parents who allow their children to drink anywhere on their property. This is if nothing further happens to the children who are drinking.
If the drinking results in the harm or, even worse, the death of a child, then the punishment is more severe. The adult can be charged with a felony. This new law has brought the rebuff of some local legal professionals.
DUI attorney Don Ramsell spoke out against this new law. He felt so strongly about it because the laws harms the relationship between the parents and children. “The old law carried penalties only when parents actually authorized the drinking or actually knew it was occurring. This new law would put a parent in jail for up to one year simply because they failed to prevent underage drinking on their properties,” he said.
Since the penalties have become so strict, it is important to have an advocate who feels strongly about the law and will fight for you. If you have been arrested because of your underage child or a DUI then contact an experienced DUI attorney in Elmhurst.
image courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net
April 12th, 2013 at 5:55 pm
While many people are familiar with the basics of being convicted of DUI in the state of Illinois, they may not be aware of the other types of DUI-related offenses with which you may be charged, or the potential penalties that they can bring. The Illinois Secretary of State DUI Fact Book details many of these criminal offenses, as follows:
- Possession of Drugs in a Vehicle – This offense occurs if a driver illegally possesses a controlled substance such as cannabis. The potential penalty for a first-time offender is the suspension of his or her driver’s license for one year; subsequent convictions can result in the total revocation of one’s driving privileges.
- Knowingly Permitting a Driver Under the Influence to Operate a Vehicle – This offense is a Class A misdemeanor under Illinois law, and can result in incarceration of up to one year and fines of up to $2,500.
- Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License – A first conviction of this criminal offense is a Class A misdemeanor, but subsequent convictions (up to nine convictions) are a Class 4 felony offense. Depending on the number of previous convictions, offenders can face varying periods of imprisonment, community service requirements, fines, suspension or revocation of one’s driver’s license, and seizure or forfeiture of one’s vehicle.
- Illegal Transportation /Open Container – This offense occurs under Illinois law if you illegally transport, carry, possess or have any alcoholic beverages in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle, except in the original container with the seal unbroken. Conviction of this offense can result in a fine, points being added to one’s driver’s license, and suspension or revocation of one’s driving privileges.
As you can see from the above information, DUI-related criminal offenses can be just as or even more serious than DUI offenses themselves in terms of potential penalties. Therefore, if you are accused of any of these crimes, or any other type of DUI-related offense, you should immediately contact a skilled and knowledgeable DuPage County DUI attorney for help in fighting these charges.